Student Success and Retention

Graduation
Building Leads
Cat Crew

First Year Information

Registering for Orientation 2021

During your online orientation, you will meet with an academic advisor, register for classes, learn about your financial aid award, meet other new panthers and orientation leaders, as well as gain access to information about essential campus resources. We’re looking forward to  providing you a customized orientation experience along with learning more about your goals and interests.

 



Students enrolling fall 2021 - Summer orientation registration is now open.

Wednesday, June 2*
Thursday, June 3*
Tuesday, June 8*
Wednesday, June 9*
Thursday, June 10*
Monday, June 14
Tuesday, June 15
Wednesday, June 16
Thursday, June 17
Monday, June 21

Tuesday, June 22
Thursday, June 24
Monday, June 28
Tuesday, June 29
Wednesday, June 30
Wednesday, July 7
Thursday, July 8
Tuesday, July 13
Wednesday, July 14
Friday, July 16

*designates reserved spots for Honors students

Register Here

First Year Student Access to Online Orientation

 

Online Orientation Portal: 

We have created an online portal where you will be able to conveniently access everything related to your orientation experience.  You will receive an email at least two weeks before your scheduled session when your portal is ready.  The portal will include: 

  • Tasks for you to complete before and after your scheduled orientation session
  • Your personalized orientation schedule which will be available 1 week before your session
  • Videos, brochures, and links to helpful information from resources across campus


Your Orientation Day:

Please be sure to be available from 8:00am to 5:00pm on the day of your scheduled orientation session. You will have breaks throughout the day! We will post your personalized schedule in the portal 1 week before your session.  


Technology:

The online orientation portal is web-based, designed to function in all browsers, and mobile-friendly.  While orientation can be completed on your phone, we recommend using a laptop or other larger device, if available, on the day of your scheduled session. If you plan on using a mobile device make sure you download Zoom app prior to your session.Throughout orientation, the live sessions will be conducted via Zoom video conferences.  

If at any point you have concerns about being able to participate in online orientation, please email orientation@uni.edu or call 319-273-4260, and we will work with you one-on-one.  


Families:

Students will be engaging in live sessions with other new and current UNI students during orientation, as well as meeting with UNI faculty and staff. Therefore, orientation is required for students and optional for families. We will be offering families their own calendar of live events and access to materials. More information will be available in April.   

 

#UNISO21